Monday, February 23, 2009


This is how our mornings look currently.

7am: Gwen wakes up. I get out of bed, quickly use the washroom, and make her a 4-ounce bottle. She drinks the bottle while I change her diaper and get her dressed.

7:15 - 8:30am: Then we go downstairs and she plays for an hour or so. During this time I do whatever chore(s) need doing: empty the dishwasher, handwash the bottles, put in a load of laundry, etc. Then we eat breakfast together.

9am: I make a 6-ounce bottle and we go upstairs. If there's a load of laundry from the day before, I fold it and put it away while she drinks her bottle.

9:30am: I change her diaper, read her a story, and put her in her crib for a nap.

Now it's close to 10am and for the first time I get to get dressed, wash my face, brush my teeth and hair, and have a moment to make myself human.

This is actually okay with me. I'm not complaining. But I am more than slightly concerned about what the HELL is going to happen when I have to go to work. I can only imagine that I will be required to get dressed and groomed and presentable well before 10am, since I start work at 7:30. And as for the question of when the dishwasher will be unloaded, the laundry washed and folded, and so on, I'm afraid to even think about that question, since I can't begin to answer it.


Jen said...

I have been thinking a LOT about this lately too! I don't know how it will go...I guess we'll see. 5 weeks and counting for me...

Surprised Suburban Wife said...

It all works out somehow. Maybe you will be "lucky" enough to get the unrequested 4:30am wake ups once you're back to work - then there's LOTS of time for laundry & assorted fun household stuff!

Amberism said...

I have no idea how people do it, they must go to bed at like, 7:00. Getting somewhere for 9 am is a challenge for me!


Related Posts with Thumbnails